Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 16th, 2011

Stag’s Hollow…

There are so many great wineries in British Columbia it can be very difficult to pick which ones to focus on. A sentimental favorite of mine has to be Stag’s Hollow. Located near Okanagan Falls in the southern Okanagan Valley, this boutique winery has matured very nicely in its 15 years of existence.

They are known for a variety of B.C. staples including Merlot and Sauvignon Blanc, but have recently moved toward more Rhone and Spanish style wines with the inclusion of Tempranillo and Grenache. I favor their Pinot Noir and the remarkable Rosé they released last year, made from Syrah. I am not normally one for Rosé, which I find much too sweet and cloying, but the 2009 Rosé was dry and delicious, with the huge flavor of a beautiful homemade strawberry jam (among other fruits) ending with just the right amount of crispness. I still have one bottle in my cellar, which will be consumed on the first patio day of spring.

Another reason for excitement is the arrival of their new Cachet line of limited release wines. The Cachet No. 1 is a Tempranillo-centric blend with the No. 2 featuring mostly Grenache and Syrah. The later has me very intrigued, to the point of driving me to order a few bottles of this very limited (450 bottle) release. Needless to say, a review will be forthcoming.

Read Full Post »