Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 2nd, 2011

Looking forward to the spring and summer (which can’t get here fast enough), I will be out in Kelowna several times. Every time I return to the Okanagan, I am tempted to go back to the handful of my favorite wineries over and over. This is, of course, a bit of a bad habit. I do have to make a point of going to those few places which don’t ship wine out of the province to restock my cellar once in a while. Other than that, I have started to make a list of a few wineries that I have not yet visited and which have grabbed my attention recently.

Here is the list so far:

Painted Rock Estate Winery – Located just outside Penticton on the Naramata Bench, this winery is quite new to the scene. Even though the first vines were only planted in 2005, this boutique winery has arrived to huge acclaim, with great reviews and a number of awards already rolling in.

Their signature wine, Red Icon, has been hailed as one of the best B.C. reds; with the first offering (2007) selling out in record time. I, quite luckily, have a bottle in my collection that was provided my by lovely wife Kasia.

La Frenz Winery – Another smaller scale operation with a large following in the wine community, they are also found on the vineyard-perfect Naramata Bench. Run by a winemaker who practiced his craft for a number of years in Australia and later at Quails’ Gate, this winery has been producing award-winning wines since the mid 2000s.

With a full portfolio of wines including some less common whites, I am eager to see if they are all as good as the Cabernet Sauvignon that I have tried.

Tantalus Vineyards – Away from what is looked on as the typical wine producing area of the Okanagan, this winery is in the Lake Country district. That obviously hasn’t stopped them from producing top-notch wines. They also recently opened a new visitor centre and tasting room, so now seems like a great time to go see their operation.

If you’ve been reading this blog, then you’ve seen the review I recently did on their Old Vines Riesling, which I pronounced as one of the best wines I have ever tasted.

Between these wineries and the many others I have been to previously I should have many more interesting tidbits to bring to you about the Okanagan wine scene over the next several months. As well, please feel free to let me know in the comments if you have any other suggestions regarding interesting wineries in the area.

Read Full Post »